(not required for free test users)

forgot password

North Carolina Offers All Three Tests

There are three tests offered in North Carolina that you can choose to take: the GED® Test, the HiSET® Exam, or the TASC Test. No matter which test you decide to take, passing one will earn you a high school equivalency certificate. The best part is, you can study for any of them online!


Why Study for the Test Online?

Studying online with The College of Essential Education speeds up preparation for your high school equivalency test in three ways: 

  1. Flexibility: It fits into your schedule and lifestyle.
  2. Control: It lets you study at your own pace instead of what the classroom dictates. 
  3. Speed: It allows you to learn faster and retain more because it customizes the study to exactly what you need to know.

Your $15 enrollment in The College of Essential Education not only gets you our GED Academy, HiSET Academy and TASC Academy, but also gets you three additional courses that help with improving your computer skills, finding and keeping your dream job, and managing your finances.

GED, HiSET, and TASC Test Eligibility Requirements in North Carolina

  • You do not have to be a resident of North Carolina.
  • You cannot be enrolled in an accredited high school or be a high school graduate.
  • You must be 18 years old or older. However, you can take the test at 16 or 17 if you contact your local North Carolina Basic Skills Education program for the appropriate forms.
  • Cost: GED: $20 (per subject); $80 (total). HiSET: $10 (per subject); $50 (total). TASC: $10.80 (per subject); $54 (total)
  • Passing score: GED: 145 (minimum) in each subject, HiSET: 8 in each subtest, combined score of 45; minimum of 2 on the Language Arts, Writing essay. TASC: 500 (minimum) in each subject; minimum of 2 out of 8 on the Language Arts, Writing essay.
  • You must apply for disability accommodations for the GED test if needed and check for other GED North Carolina rules and requirements. You have to do the same for disability accommodations for the HiSET exam if you need it and be sure to check for other HiSET North Carolina rules and requirements. Find out about disability accommodations for the TASC test and fill out a request form if you need certain accommodations. 

Whether you pass the GED, HiSET or TASC test, the State of North Carolina will award you a high school equivalency certificate that will show you have achieved the same level of knowledge as a high school graduate. 

Get Ready by Studying Online

Before taking your chosen high school equivalency test, you’ll want to take our free practice test so you know which areas you need to focus so you can pass easily. Enroll in an easy and affordable study program like The College of Essential Education. It’s designed to help you prepare quickly by showing you those exact subjects you need to master. 

Once you’re ready, be sure to find an official testing center in North Carolina for the test you’ve choose: 



That’s how many have successfully passed their high school equivalency test.