(not required for free test users)

forgot password

California Offers All Three Tests

California offers three different high school equivalency tests: the GED® test, the HiSET® exam, and the TASC test. Once you’ve decided which test to take, you can start studying—you can even prepare for test online from the comfort of your own home!


California Online Study Programs

There are three reasons why online study speeds up preparation for the tests.

  • First is flexibility. Online studying can fit into your schedule and lifestyle.
  • Second is control. You can study at your own pace instead of what the classroom dictates.
  • And third, you learn faster and retain more because Essential Education Academies customize the study to exactly what you need to know.  

Your $15 enrollment includes six courses to help you pass your high school equivalency test, get a job, improve your computer skills, and manage your finances. Make your dreams come true.  

California State High Sschool Equivalency Test Eligibility 

  • You must be a resident of California.
  • You cannot be enrolled in an accredited high school or be a high school graduate.
  • You must be 18 years of age. However, you can take the test at 17 if you meet additional requirements. 
  • Cost: GED: $28.75 (per subject); $115 (all subjects). HiSET: $17 (per subject); $85 (all subjects). TASC: $17 (per subject); $85 (all subjects)
  • Passing score: GED: 145 (minimum) in each subject. HiSET: 8 in each subtest, combined score of 45; minimum of 2 on the Language Arts, Writing essay. TASC: 500 (minimum) in each subject; minimum of 2 out of 8 on the Language Arts - Writing essay
  • Accommodations: GED: You must apply for disability accommodations through the GED Testing Service page. HiSET: Find out about disability accommodations and fill out your HiSET Accommodations Request Form. TASC: Find out about disability accommodations and fill out your TASC Accommodations Request Form on TASC Test website.
  • Locate a California testing center: GED use the testing center locator, and check for any additional rules and requirement here. HiSET testing center, use the testing center locator, and check your state’s other rules and requirements here. TASC testing center, use the testing center locator.

After you pass the test, the State of California will award you a high school equivalency certificate that will show you have achieved the same level of knowledge as a high school graduate.

How do you know when you’re ready?

Take our free practice test before taking the official high school equivalency test to make sure you are ready. You will discover which areas you need to focus on in order to pass. Our online study course is designed to help you prepare quickly because you study only those areas that you need to master. 



That’s how many have successfully passed their high school equivalency test.